My Blue Heaven, Pt. 1

I acknowledge the fact that I’ve written very little as of late.

 

This is for two primary reasons:

 

I’m in the process of curating and revising a book of short stories, essays and poems for a Fall 2014 release. This takes time not to write, but to review what I’ve already done, to coordinate with my editor and designer…

 

But.

 

The main reason, is my reaction to the most current mental funk, manual labor.

 

I’ve lived here for four years now. Every nice day I spend the majority of it out back, sitting on my porch, top step.

 

I write, drink, and play out there. I watch my dogs at their happiest.

 

But I never leave that porch, save to take the trash out to the alley.

 

So I decided to fix that.

 

I love my backyard. It has no trees, but the neighbors do, and that gives me shade, and my dogs room to run and romp and play.

 

So this month has been spent digging, raking, tilling, laying down patio and assembling things.

 

I’m not finished, but I’ve done enough now to sit out here on a couch, typing this blog as Daisy chases lightning bugs and Deuces sits next to me for the ear scritches.

 

Stay tuned. You know I like to share.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

