(Retro)spect

retrospect

I’m a part of Generation X.

I’m part of the last generation to live through the cold war, and the first generation to do worse than their parents.

I lived through the 80’s before they became retro.

I watched TV in black and white, and my phone actually had a dial—not buttons. I remember a life before call-waiting.

I witnessed first hand the death of disco and the birth of punk rock.

I’m old enough to be pissed off by remakes of the movies from my youth.

I owned an IntelleVision, a step above Atari, below ColecoVision—and ran the Pit Fall course backwards.

I died of dysentary on the Oregon Trail.

I not only remember the Challenger explosion, but the Very Special episode of Punky Brewster about the Challenger explosion.

The themes from M*A*S*H and Hill Street Blues were my lullabies.

I’m old enough to know that the now-retro fashion choices coming back into popularity were a bad idea the first time around.

My cartoons were hand drawn, and when I read, I chose my own adventure.

Old.

I’m old enough to be annoyed by teenagers and never get carded for beer anymore.

I’m old enough to remember when MTV played music.

Most importantly, I’m old enough to be nostalgic for my youth.

That’s why I find myself trolling the web for bits and pieces of it every now and then…

Now, I’ll admit…

I didn’t really develop much of a life until the 90’s. I spent far more time with the Ricker and Arnold Jackson than I did real people.

That’s probably why most of the memories from my youth are centered around the television.

So look forward to more trips, or perhaps more to wit, staggers down memory lane from time to time…

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “(Retro)spect”

  1. Dre Says:

    Very cool (retro)spect, at least you didn’t say you watched CHiPs..(lol!)

  2. (Retro)spect: Turkey Day Edition « Viciousblog's Weblog Says:

    […] I’ve said, I didn’t really have a life until the 90’s. Mine was a childhood filmed before a live studio […]

  3. (Retro)spect: Turkey Day Edition « Viciousblog's Weblog Says:

    […] I’ve said, I didn’t really have a life until the 90′s. Mine was a childhood filmed before a live studio […]

  4. Gracefully | Viciousblog's Weblog Says:

    […] okay with this. I kind of like it, even. I’m old. That’s no secret. Older than my band mates, older than most of the Beggars, older than my […]

  5. (Retro)spect: Turkey Day Edition | Viciousblog's Weblog Says:

    […] I’ve said, I didn’t really have a life until the 90’s. Mine was a childhood filmed before a live studio […]

Leave a Reply

