Work in Progress: Literary Edition (v2)

fork

Another day, another stab at the Grundish cover…

As I said, the author prefers the tattoo direction (much to my chagrin)

I took some advice from you guys and got rid of the lower fists…I think it’s getting closer, though I’m going to try using a more frantic (but legible) font for Askew when I get home and have access to my macbook pro and my large collection of fonts… (as opposed to this horrid PC I’m chained to at work that does not allow me to install fonts into my computer, even though I’m in the marketing department, often doing graphic design work, but that’s a different post entirely)

Here’s where the cover is currently…

cover up

here’s the front and back together

cover 1

Even though the Rev. Dr. Carbuncle isn’t too interested in the other look, I refined it anyway…I couldn’t leave it sitting so unfinished…

I think he should at least consider this option once more…I adjusted the spine to parody the covers more.

cover 2

A former colleague suggested I put the full title on the cover of the book, which in fact I had done, albeit in a very understated way…I refined it, by adjusting the byline to follow the same style, which I hope will help the full title stand out more…

grundish cover

I also added it to the back cover.

grundish back cover

More to come…stay tuned…

rings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Work in Progress: Literary Edition (v2)”

  1. Work in Progress: Literary Edition « Viciousblog’s Weblog Says:

    […] Work in Progress: Literary Edition By viciousblog For those of you just hqappening upon this post, the designs below have been updated in a newer post. […]

  2. steve Says:

    I like the second one, but if the author likes the first one….

    One suggestion; on the knuckle tats…How about you actually write the words on some fists with a sharpie or dark green permanent pen and take the photo yourself? It would lend a level of authenticity and save you some PShop work.

  3. Work in Progress: Literary Edition (v3) « Viciousblog’s Weblog Says:

    […] Viciousblog’s Weblog Rants, fiction, essays and a crap-load more « Work in Progress: Literary Edition (v2) […]

  4. viciousblog Says:

    The author does indeed like the first design, which, upon tweaking, I am quite happy with…I opted to move away from the photo-realism style ofr the knuckles and tats, using my tried and true process (found in 80% of my gig poster designs)…

  5. Work in Progress: Literary Edition (v2) « Viciousblog's Weblog Says:

    […] viciousblog wrote an interesting post today onWork in Progress: Literary Edition (v2) « Viciousblog's WeblogHere’s a quick excerpt […]

Leave a Reply

