120 Minutes of my Life

rogue

I’m old. It’s true.

I’m old enough to be that guy that says things like, “I remember when MTV played music videos”.

So far I’ve lived through 8-tracks, records, cassettes, CDs and into the digital age.

Old.

I had an apple IIc…I think I still do, as a matter of fact. I remember black and white TVs, and life before cable or VCRs.

I remember flash cubes, and a little something called the Kodak Disc.

I remember the original versions of all the TV shows and movies being remade these days.

I remember being afraid of the nuclear bomb…(looks like even that’s getting a remake, thanks S. Korea)

I lived through both Bush presidencies, and remember Coke before it was Classic.

I mean, I remember when MTV played music videos.

More specifically, I remember watching videos on MTV during those lovely high school years–riddled with all the angst a Gen Xer could muster up, for reasons still unclear to me.

I remember coming home late at night, sometimes drunk, sometimes not. Sometimes buzzing from potential love, other times, unable to sleep because something didn’t happen, and I wasn’t sure what.

Whatever the reason, I was awake, and they hadn’t invented the internet yet.

That’s when I’d turn on MTV and watch a little show called 120 minutes. This was my education. This delivered me from hair bands, and bubble gum pop.

I’d watch videos from The Jesus and Mary Chain, Bronski Beat, New Order, The Replacements, School of Fish, Trashcan Sinatras, Robyn Hitchcock, KMFDM, Kate Bush, Echo and the Bunnymen, Erasure, Ministry, Sonic Youth, Violent Femmes, Blake Babies, Happy Mondays, Morrissey, Kitchens of Distinction, They Might Be Giants, and Hüsker Dü…

I could go on for days listing the alt.bands of yesteryear…The type of band that was once described as “college radio”, but would now be saddled with the horrible genre label “indie.” It’s a far cry from what I listen to these days, but it’s what got me to where I am now. It taught me what being alternative meant.

I mean, jesus …it introduced me to grunge. It introduced me to Nirvana and Alice in Chains and Pearl Jam…(mad props to Eddie Vedder for not overdosing and/or being dead)

It opened me up to a culture that sat just below the surface of the mainstream, at least for a little while…

Any time I stumble across a song on youtube from this era, I can’t help but pause and listen. I close my eyes and remember my youth. I remember a young, nearly optimistic kid getting his mind blown by something completely new…before I got old and started fearing change.

It almost makes me feel indestructible for a minute or two.

So in honor of that, here’s this:

and what the hell, here’s this:

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “120 Minutes of my Life”

  1. (Retro)spect « Viciousblog’s Weblog Says:

    […] I’m old enough to remember when MTV played music. […]

Leave a Reply

