Mad Hatter.

Sometimes when I meet someone new, and they ask me what I do, I have to pause and think for a moment. That’s a far more complicated question than it would seem on the surface. How do I answer?

What is a career, anyway? Something you do to live? To earn money? To grow and evolve? Something you produce or sell?

Like I said in a recent post, I wear a lot of hats…literally and figuratively.

I’m the one who put them on, and when they fit, I hold onto them, wear them whenever I can.

I suppose on one level, I have a career in advertising. I get up every morning and have a cup of coffee, wear a tie and produce work for a salary. I’ve grown and excelled to a senior position and care a great deal about the work I do. I’m passionate about the concept, strategy and creative opportunity. I’m passionate about the process and production. I’m passionate about the end results. And I’m pretty damned good at it.

But that’s not all I do.

And that’s not all I love.

And it may not be what I do for the rest of my life, unless I have a heart attack on a shoot someday, but my doctor said I’m freakishly healthy, so…

I also love writing and playing music, singing, and performing with my band and the Beggars. This is what some would consider a hobby, for I do not rely on it to keep a roof over our head. But I have devoted myself completely.

I have been a part of this since before it existed, and the collaboration and success of our productions, both at home and on the road makes it far more than a hobby. I work as hard for them as I do for the agency—as I do for myself.

But would I trade in my Mad Man status for a life on the road with the carnivale?

I honestly don’t know. Perhaps, should the right opportunity arise…

And should that opportunity never extend beyond its current reach, well, that’s okay, too.

I’m a big fan of taking life as it comes.

Love hard, do good work and take your chances when the opportunity arises.

I write, design, promote, publish, advertise and entertain…

So, what do I do? Simple.

I live the life I love, and I love the life I live.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Mad Hatter.”

  1. Nocturnal Admissions: Goodbye, Farewell and Amen | Viciousblog's Weblog Says:

    […] follow me here, there, anywhere else…I’ve gone through a strange reset in my life. Where I once spread myself far too thin, pushing every abject moment of creative opportunity a bit past the limit, working my ass off on […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

