Tangle of Lights: The thinnest fat man you know.

You would think that for as thin as I spread myself, I’d weigh a lot less. But then, I suppose if your plate is always full…

I wear a lot of hats—literally and figuratively.

We’re one week out from a very ambitious Beggar’s Carnivale, with lots to still learn, tighten, tweak and lock down. Rehearsals every night. There’s barely enough time to come home, grab a bite, kiss my woman and scritch the pups before heading back out until late into the evening.

I still need to work on T-Shirt designs, graphics for the performers, and memorization of a half dozen songs.

And then, of course, there’s my day job; my career. A world I’m equally passionate about. And in my waking hours as a Mad Man, I’m responsible for concepting four campaigns for three clients, all due at the same time, all important for the livelihood of the company and the people who work with me.

And these are concepts I’m really excited about. Concepts that could give me the chance to create something truly touching—beautiful.

And of course, there’s Fondly, a book I’ve been putting a lot more time into.

All of these things are important to me. Important for me. I would not trade any of it, there’s nothing I could cut out without feeling as if I lost an important part of myself.

With so much on my mind, such a long to-do list, sleep is rather elusive. So I sit up and think. Plan. Work.

and sometimes, I’m so overwhelmed with things I have to do, I simply create something mindless because the process grounds me. Lately I’ve been doing pop-culture movie graphics…for no real reason other than the process.

playay

pink

butcherbill

shonuff

I haven’t had any true bolts of inspiration for original pieces since Naughti Gras.

I work in the persuasion business.

I work in the persuasion business.

Well then, you’d better have one hell of a presentation.

Well then, you’d better have one hell of a presentation.

It’s my job to know what you want, even before you do.

It’s my job to know what you want, even before you do.

And what do I want?

And what do I want?

Whatever I tell you.

Whatever I tell you.

I have some ideas for some new pieces, but I’m not ready to produce them quite yet. I need more time than I have right now. I need to clear my plate off a bit before I can heap more on…so…Time to dig in.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

